Styx, Where’ve You Been?!

Short answer: working.

Longer answer:  I swore it wouldn’t happen to me.  I wouldn’t be one of those sim-bloggers who lets life get in the way of her hobby.  Unfortunately, it just isn’t that easy a resolution to stick to once real life takes over.  My work schedule means that between work and family time, I get just about zero free-time during weekdays.  Lately, we’ve been really busy during weekends, too, doing family stuff.

That combined with the problems I’ve been having with my game has made it pretty much impossible to get an update out for any of my stories.

I have, however, been writing (by hand, on paper) during my lunchtime at work–a new story that’s been jostling for position in my head for a few weeks.  I’m not sure if I’ll be able to publish it any time soon, but I guess I just wanted to say I’m still writing.

While I now fall into the realm of one of those bloggers who let real life get in the way and take forever to update, I can’t say I’m as unhappy about that fact as I thought I would be.  I love my new job.  I never thought I’d be able to get a job to which I actually look forward to going every day, but I thank my lucky stars that I managed to.  I feel, if anything, closer to my family now that I’ve started working, because it forces me to appreciate all the more the time I do have with them in the evenings and mornings, and on weekends.

That said, I’m putting my blogs on mostly-hiatus, meaning they’ll each be updated whenever I get the chance…but I’m not going to stress about it, because then it kind of loses the whole point of a hobby.  I will do my best to keep up with the blogs I read, too, though I’ve been horrible about that lately, as well.

Thank you all for your patience!

4 thoughts on “Styx, Where’ve You Been?!

  1. I’m being perfectly honest here; I’m just glad you’re not miserable and thinking you never want to write again! Getting a new job and loving it is an amazing thing. I recently started working for my dad on his rental properties, and some are so messy that you can’t even see the carpet. And if you can, you can tell what color it’s supposed to be. But papa pays good, so I like it. xD I got way off track. But anyways, I’m happy for you and your job and family and stuff. Wow, I’m so eloquent. xD

  2. Congratulations on your new job! And real life always has to take precedent over our Simi lives…as much as we may regret it. You are an amazing storyteller and I hope you continue to write and share.

  3. Okay, I just caught up today. I love your writing. I may & may not write a story myself. I tried once, but I couldn’t figure out how to organize it into chapters, plus I quickly found out that not much actual playing goes on when writing a story, even if it’s a legacy. You end up pausing the game so much to take pictures, that it could take an hour just to get a full sim day in. Though I like to write, I really, really love to play. It’s very time consuming to write a sim story, so I fully understand your position. I would rather read a chapter once every few months, then never again, so do whatever you have to do to avoid both boredom & burnout. You have a great sense of humor & you not only write well, but take great pictures. Keep up the great work.

Leave a Reply

